Zurich International School was formed in 2001 through the merger of the American International School of Zurich, founded in 1963, and the International Primary School of Zurich, founded in 1970. The school has grown and developed extensively and today has more than 1,450 students aged 3 to 18 studying at one of four campuses.
The school celebrated its 50th anniversary during the 2013/14 school year.
Explore our interactive timeline to learn more about the school.
The American International School of Zurich (AISZ) opens at the Spinnergut Villa in Kilchberg, a former family home built in 1914.
The English Language Kindergarten (ELK), later to be renamed the International Primary School of Zurich (IPSZ), opens in Horgen.
IPSZ outgrows its home and moves to the current Early Childhood Center villa, a former family home built in 1906 on the shore of Lake Zurich in Kilchberg.
The Spinnergut Villa in Kilchberg is extensively renovated and expanded.
AISZ and IPSZ merge to form Zurich International School.
The purpose-built Lower School opens in Wädenswil.
The new state-of-the-art Upper School opens in Adliswil. The Middle School moves to the Spinnergut Villa in Kilchberg. A Lower School in Baden opens in a former Swiss school building.
The Baden Campus expands to include a Middle School.
Thanks to the generosity of the ZIS Community, the new outdoor playground opens at the Lower School in Wädenswil.
Early ZIS opens in Wädenswil. This has since moved to the Early Childhood Center in Kilchberg.
The Baden Lower and Middle School moves into a brand new purpose-built building in the center of Baden. This campus closed in 2015.
The school implements Learning First, a whole school curriculum framework guiding teaching and learning.