Skip To Main Content

John Mattern Alumni Award for Faculty

The Mattern Award is named for the first headmaster of the school, an educator renowned for his ability to inspire and influence students and faculty alike. The award recognizes a former faculty member who has provided an exceptionally high degree of individual attention to, and concern for, students in all areas of school life.

The Award

At Zurich International School – previously the American International School of Zurich (AISZ) and the International Primary School of Zurich (IPSZ) – there have been many extraordinary faculty members throughout our 50+ year history – teachers valued for their subject knowledge, teaching style, joy of working with students in and outside of the classroom, and extraordinary communication and mentoring skills.

The alumni of ZIS, along with the school, will honor these talented educators annually through the Mattern Award.


The honored faculty member will:

  • receive a prize of CHF 1,500 (initial funding provided by generous alumni donors)
  • be invited to campus and honored at a reception in his or her honor
  • speak before students and faculty and attend classes
  • be featured in ZIS communications and in a special wall of recognition
  • as available, attend alumni events locally and globally.


  • each February all alumni will be asked (via online and printed communications) to submit nominations for the award, based on certain criteria. Nominations for the 2021 award are now closed.
  • a committee of alumni will select the final winner in April based on the nominations.
  • the winner for the next school year will be announced later in the spring.


"How do you really make a difference to your community – and what does it feel like when you do?"

Voices Magazine - Lasting Impact

ZIS parents and alumni discuss how donating their time, energy and funds - including through the John Mattern Award - has had a transformational impact on student and school life.